USF Student Government uncertified 2024 election results


Around 10% of the student body voted for Student Government leaders in the 2024 election. ORACLE PHOTO/LEDA ALVIM

Junior Suryakanth Prasad Gottipati and senior Sumit Subhash Jadhav are set to be the next Student Government (SG) president and vice president for all three USF campuses.

Dora Rodriguez, SG supervisor of elections, said these results are subject to change due to the grievances that are still pending. 

Grievances are complaints made by anyone of the student body when a candidate is believed to have violated one of the campaigning rules. 

Gottipati and Jadhav declined to comment until the “certified results” were out.

The candidates won with 1,702 votes, according to the Elections Rules Commission (ERC). 

Related: Meet the candidates: Suryakanth Prasad Gottipati and Sumit Subhash Jadhav

The total votes counted for this election are 5,260-  around 10% of the student body. USF currently has 49,766 enrolled students, according to the USF 2022-23 fact book. A total of 2,087 votes were casted in last year’s presidential SG election.

The position of SG president and vice president at USF pays $10.50 an hour and students work 30 hours a week, according to SG job descriptions

Here is a look at your uncertified elected officials:

Tampa campus 

Rohan Ramayanam and Krishna Karthink Nanduri are set to serve as governor and Lt. governor for the Tampa campus. The ticket has 1,527 votes, according to the ERC.

Much like the president and vice president positions, SG governors also make $10.50 an hour, working 30 hours a week, according to SG job descriptions. 

For the Tampa Senate, 30 students were elected to serve as senators in the 2024-25 school year. The Senate is composed of 60 seats for all three campuses.

SG senators work 10 hours a week for $10 an hour, according to SG job descriptions. 

In the student council seats, 12 students were elected. Similarly to senators, student council members get 10 hours a week for $10 an hour, according to SG job descriptions.

St. Pete campus

Serving as the St. Pete campus governor and Lt. governor are David Nguyen and Elise Prophete, with 199 votes, according to the ERC. 

St. Pete has elected three senate seats and six student council members. 

Sarasota-Manatee campus   

The Sarasota-Manatee campus elected Spence Gerber and Alexandra Lopez to be the governor and Lt. governor of the campus. The ticket won with 54 votes, according to the ERC.

Jaiden Barret was elected to serve as senator and seven student to serve as council members.

Sarasota has filled one Senate seat out of the seven that the campus usually has, according to SG’s overview site

Stay with The Oracle for updates on the SG election.

Julia Saad, News Editor

Julia Saad started as a news correspondent in fall 2022. During Saad's tenure at The Oracle, she has covered a variety of news. However, Saad's favorite topic to cover is being able to place readers in the ambient environments of USF events.