SG midterm election results announced, voter turnout decreases

Eight senate seats and one campus council seat were filled in the Tampa campus this midterm election. ORACLE PHOTO/JUSTIN SEECHARAN

Student Government (SG) midterm election results were announced on Friday with lower voter turnout compared to last year’s election.

A total of 8,394 votes were cast per candidate in the election for both Senate and campus council candidates across all three campuses, with 7,919 votes coming from Tampa.

Compared to the 2022 midterm election when there were 10,326 votes cast across all three campuses, there has been a 1,932 decrease in votes cast per candidate. This is a 18.7% decrease. 

A tie for a seat in campus council in St. Pete between Ethan Bischof and Olivia Borek will lead to a run-off election. Both candidates received 80 votes in the run for the fifth and final seat in the council.

Voting for the midterm election opened on Tuesday at midnight and closed on Wednesday at the same time. 

There were eight senate seats open in the Tampa campus with 22 candidates. The senators elected were Ayisha Necholi, An Anh Hoang Nguyen, Minh Anh Bui, Tasbi Fatima, Caitlyn Campbell, Krishna Karthik Nanduri, Sarika Rao and Bruna Braga Mattozinho. One campus council seat was open that went to Ariana Marchen.

There were 6,729 votes cast per candidate for Senate and 890 for campus council in Tampa.

The Sarasota-Manatee campus saw 58 votes per candidate out of 1308 potential voters, according to SG Advising, Training and Operations Director Gary Manka. There were two available campus council seats at Sarasota-Manatee. The only two candidates in the running were elected: Alexis Santi and Oskar Mailaender-Garcia.

The St. Pete campus had five available seats. Besides the tied vote, Catherine Crossman, David Nguyen, Joseph Durante and Miguel Rios were elected. The campus had 717 votes per candidate cast out of 3493 potential voters, according to Manka. 

No senate seats were open in the Sarasota-Manatee and St. Pete campuses.