Lightning win second consecutive Stanley Cup

After winning the Stanley Cup in 2020, the Tampa Bay Lightning have repeated as NHL champions by beating the Montreal Canadiens in five games. SPECIAL TO THE ORACLE/TWITTER/@TBLightning

The Tampa Bay Lightning defeated the Montreal Canadiens 1-0 on Wednesday to win the franchise’s third Stanley Cup and its second in two years.

The Lightning is now the second franchise since the start of the millennium to repeat as Stanley Cup champions, the other being the Pittsburgh Penguins in 2016 and 2017.

Andrei Vasilevskiy was named the MVP of the postseason and was awarded with the Conn Smythe Trophy after the conclusion of the game.

Tampa Bay beat Montreal on Wednesday to complete the series win after losing to the Canadiens on Monday. The Lightning won game one 5-1, game two 3-1, game three 6-3 and the series-clinching game five 1-0.

The difference in game five proved to be a Ross Colton goal with 6:33 to play in the second period. Notable performances from Nikita Kucherov, Brayden Point, Steven Stamkos, Tyler Johnson and Vasilevskiy over the course of the series helped push Tampa Bay past Montreal. 

The second Stanley Cup win in two years adds to the growing list of accomplishments for teams from the Tampa Bay area, or how many fans have now started dubbing it, “Champa Bay.”

Since 2020 began, the Rays won the American League in the MLB, the Rowdies won the Eastern Conference in the USL, the Buccaneers won the Super Bowl in the NFL and a number of USF individuals and teams have won titles and accolades to go along with the accomplishments of the Lightning.