Jones earns MVP

Call it the surprise of the century, but Dominique Jones was voted as 2008-09 team MVP.

After USF wrapped up its annual banquet Monday night, it announced a list of the final awards dished out Tuesday, with the sophomore guard claiming his second consecutive John & Cynthia Ruzic USF Most Valuable Player award.

As a freshman, Jones shared the title with former center Kentrell Gransberry.

“I would really like to thank our fans and supporters who have been behind us all season,” said coach Stan Heath in a statement. “We are continuing to climb the ladder in the Big East Conference and to take steps forward in our building process. This team fought through tremendous adversity this season, with injuries and facing a historic Big East challenge, and persevered throughout the season.”

Jones also won the Free-Throw Award, the Chairman of the Boards award and the Witcoff Endowed Scholarship. The 6-foot-4 guard led the Bulls in rebounding with
5.6 per game and shot 71 percent from the free-throw line.

Junior center Alex Rivas won Most Improved Player after averaging 7.1 points and 6.7 rebounds in the last 10 games.

The complete list:
MVP: Dominique Jones
Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Howard
Chairman of the Boards: Jones
Most Improved Player: Rivas
Free Throw Award: Jones
Academic Award: Jesus Verdejo
Bull Pride Award: Mobolaji Ajayi
Bill Jones Scholarship Award: Howard
Wittcoff Endowed Scholarship: Jones
Wittcoff Family Endowed Scholarship: Howard