Cool off with this year's Spring Break Edition!
Read more here to make every moment last.

USF quarterback Byrum Brown left off conference award list despite record-setting season

After finishing the season with over 3,000 passing yards and 34 total touchdowns, redshirt freshman quarterback Byrum Brown was not awarded conference honors. USF ATHLETICS PHOTO

On Tuesday, five Bulls were awarded with American All-Conference honors, with a glaring absence at the quarterback position.

Byrum Brown failed to pick up a conference award or honorable mention after a historic redshirt freshman season.

Conference all-team honors are voted on by the 14 head coaches in the American and awarded to the top players at their respective positions.

Conference honors are broken into three teams. The first-team is composed of players who had the best seasons at their positions.

Tulane junior Micheal Pratt and UTSA senior Frank Harris were named as conference first-team quarterbacks, while Memphis junior Seth Henigan made the second-team. 

Brown was named as the conference Offensive Player of the Week twice and received six honor roll mentions throughout the season. 

Pratt is the only other AAC quarterback to receive two Offensive Player of the Week nods. 

Related: Byrum Brown named AAC Offensive Player of the Week

Brown is one of only two quarterbacks in the nation with over 3,000 yards passing and 700 yards rushing, joining LSU senior Jayden Daniels in that distinction. 

Daniels was named SEC Player of the Year by USA Today on Tuesday, and is considered to be one of the frontrunners for the Heisman Trophy. The Heisman is annually awarded to the most outstanding player in college football. 

Brown – who totaled 34 touchdowns in his first full season – did not receive even remotely the same recognition. 

Despite the AAC not awarding one of the most productive offensive players in the country, Atkins picked up USF’s only all-conference selection this season. 

Senior wide receiver Sean Atkins was named to the American All-Conference second team, marking USF’s first wide receiver to receive a conference award since Rodney Adams in 2016. 

After being hand-picked right out of high school, Atkins joined the team in 2019 and emerged as one of the Bulls’ most dynamic offensive weapons this season. 

He finished as the Bulls’ leading receiver, totaling 86 receptions for 961 yards and five touchdowns.

Atkins broke the USF single-season receptions record against Temple on Nov. 11, and broke the single-season receiving yards record in the following game against UTSA on Nov. 17

Related: USF on the verge of bowl berth after close win over Temple

Also earning recognition are four Bulls’ who were announced as an All-Conference Honorable Mention.

Junior defensive back Aamaris Brown-Bunkley, junior defensive tackle Rashad Cheney, senior linebacker Jhalyn Shuler and sophomore offensive lineman Zane Herring were named as Honorable Mentions. 

Brown-Bunkley recorded 37 tackles and two interceptions. Cheney finished with 39 tackles, including seven tackles for loss. 

Shuler led the Bulls with 86 tackles, also racking up two sacks. 

Bowl matchups will be announced on Dec. 3.