Saint Louis feasts on soccer awards

Conference USA held its annual Men’s Soccer Awards Banquet at the Temple Terrace Golf and Country Club Wednesday night.

In his first season as head coach of Saint Louis, Dan Donigan took home the Coach of the Year Award. The Billikens (14-1-0, 9-1-0) won the regular season crown for the second consecutive year and are ranked third nationally. Donigan had been the assistant for four seasons before leading his team to the program’s best record since 1991.

Donigan had plenty of help to obtain the award, with six of his players earning first team honors, including Player of the Year, Dipsy Selolwane. Selolwane leads the nation in with 20 goals, including four against USF on Oct. 20.

Other Billikens earning first team honors include defender Marty Tappel, who was also chosen as the Defensive Player of the Year, midfielders Brad Davis and Mike Hill, defender Jason Cole and goalkeeper John Politis.

Rounding out the Conference USA First Team were USF forward Jason Cudjoe and midfielder Jeff Thwaites, Memphis forward Sean Fraser, Marquette midfielder Sean Reti and Louisville defender Adrian Cann.

USF freshman defender Jared Vock made the second team as well as the All-Freshman squad, and fellow Bulls midfielder Gabriel Salgado and goalie Troy Perkins earned third team honors. Bulls freshman midfielder Brandon Streicher also made the All-Freshman Team.

  • Chris Lemke